Anders Ynnerman (4486)

executive committee
On-line information/ Promotion officer

Organization: NVIS
Address: Department of Science and Technology
Linköping University
601 74, Norrköping
601 74 Norrköping
Country: Sweden
Telephone: +46-11-363309
Fax: +46-11-363270
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Professor Anders Ynnerman received a Ph.D. in physics from Gothenburg University. During the early 90s he was doing research at Oxford University, UK, and Vanderbilt University, USA. In 1996 he started the Swedish National Graduate School in Scientific Computing, which he directed until 1999. From 1997 to 2002 he directed the Swedish National Supercomputer Centre and from 2002 to 2006 he directed the Swedish National Infrastructure for Computing (SNIC). Ynnerman is representing Sweden and the Nordic region in several international collaborations and policy bodies.

Since 1999 he has held a chair in scientific visualization at Linköping University and in 2000 he founded the Norrköping Visualization and Interaction Studio (NVIS). NVIS currently constitutes one of the main focal points for research and education in computer graphics and visualization in the Nordic region. He is also one of the co-founders of the Center for Medical Image Science and Visualization (CMIV) and he is currently the chair of the CMIV scientific council. He is involved in several spin-off companies in the area of visualization and scientific computing. Ynnerman's current research interest lies in the area of visualization of large scale and complex data sets with a focus on volume rendering and multi-modal interaction.

Ynnerman is an elected member of the Swedish Royal Academy of Engineering Sciences and a board member of the Swedish Research Council. In 2007 Ynnerman was awarded the Akzo Nobel Science award and the Golden Mouse award for Swedish IT-person of the year. In 2007 he co-chaired the EuroVis conference and he is co-chairing the 2008 Symposium on Volume Graphics. He is a member of the IEEE, ACM, and is a board member of the Swedish Computer Graphics Association (SIGRAD). He is also the general chair of EuroGraphics 2010 to be held in Norrkoping, Sweden.