Skip to content

EuroVis PhD Award

Eurographics Annual Award for Best PhD Thesis

The EuroVis Best PhD Dissertation Award recognizes outstanding dissertations in academic research and development over topics relevant to visualization. The intent of this award is to recognize excellent young researchers in their early career and to highlight visualization research. The award is managed by the Best PhD dissertation committee, constituted by a Chair appointed by the EuroVis Steering Committee.

For 2018, the Chair is Jean-Daniel Fekete.

Submission deadline

Nomination packets must be received by 5pm CET on February, 1st, 2019 to qualify for the 2019 competition.


Eligibility includes PhDs from the European visualization community (e.g., through contributions to the EuroVis conference) that defended and get awarded the degree of Doctor from January 1st, 2017 to December 31st, 2018.

There is no limitation on the number of nominations that may be made by a university.


The winner of the EuroVis Best PhD Dissertation Award will be presented at the opening of EuroVis 2019.


The student’s advisor should email the nomination package to The package must include:

  1. A nomination letter written by the student’s advisor, which includes:
  • the name, email address, and phone number of the advisor,
  • the name, email address, and CV of the candidate, and
  • a one-page summary of the significance of the dissertation (references to papers should be provided on an extra sheet)
  1. A copy of the dissertation.
  2. Optional additional letters of recommendation or assessments on the candidate thesis, such as reviewing or defense reports, can also be attached to the submission.

For questions, contact Jean-Daniel Fekete (


Best PhD Committee

  • Jean-Daniel Fekete, Inria, FR (chair)
  • Helwig Hauser, Univ. of Bergen, NO
  • Niklas Elmqvist, Univ. of Maryland, US
  • Hans Hagen, Univ. of Kaiserslautern, DE
  • Heidrun Schumann, Univ. of Rostock, DE
  • Jarke van Wijk, Eindhoven University of Technology, NL

Selection Procedure

Five to six recognized members of the EuroVis community, selected by the Chair, will form a review committee to thoroughly review and assess the dissertation submissions. The committee will judge the dissertations based on their intellectual merit, technical depth, and presentation quality.

The committee is selected with prominent members of the EuroVis community. Their names is public to foster transparency and attest of the value of the awards. The selection is done after all the applications are received to avoid hard conflicts, i.e. advisors of applicants in the committee. The chair cannot be conflicted either so none of his former PhD students can apply during his term. Soft conflicts are possible: a committee member can be part of the institution of an applicant, either during the PhD or after, or have co-authored with the applicant. In that case, the committee member will not be able to speak about the application during the discussion, and can decide or be asked to leave the discussion when it concerns the applicant in soft conflict. Prominent researchers are used to handle these cases when they participate to selection or prize jurys.

The selection is handled in three meetings, usually conducted through a videoconferencing system:

  1. They agree on the selection process, on the eligibility of the applicants, and get assigned four PhDs, each PhD being reviewed by two committee members. They will have to read and score them according to the scientific contribution, difficulty of the problem addressed, originality of the solution, quality of the writing/presentation, potential/effective impact, number of EuroVis publications. The citations according to Google Scholar are also collected, as well as the duration of the PhD, that varies widely throughout the institutions and countries. The information gathered is used to provide factual information to the debate, no automatic ranking or scoring is used to filter-out applicants.
  2. The committee meet again and discusses each of the PhDs. At the end, a short list of 4-6 PhDs is selected from intense discussions. A major rule is to remain positive about all the PhDs. Each member of the committee need to complete their reading of all the shortlisted PhDs for the next meeting, and provide a full ranking (except for the soft conflicts obviously).
  3. The committee meet and compare the ranking, discussing the differences in the ranking to achieve a consensus. It can decide to select up to 3 PhDs to be awarded.

Best PhD Awards 2018


Tanja Blascheck – University of Stuttgart, DE

for her outstanding PhD thesis “Understanding Interactive Visualizations: Leveraging Eye Movements and Visual Analytics” introducing novel methods to evaluate visualization using eye tracking by triangulating with multiple data sources.

Michael Glueck – University of Toronto, CA

for his out standing PhD thesis “Ontology-based Context in Visualizations to Facilitate Sensemaking: Case Studies of Phenotype Comparisons” proposing effective visual analytic interfaces for helping medical domain experts understand large-scale patient records using medical ontologies.

Renata Raidou – Eindhoven University of Technology, NL

for her outstanding PhD thesis “Visual Analytics for Digital Radiotherapy; Towards a Comprehensible Pipeline” that introduces novel and effective visual analytics solutions to the multiple stages of complex analyses related to radiotherapy.