Skip to content

Eurographics Young Researcher Award


The Young Researcher Award is given each year to two young researchers in the field who have already made a significant contribution. The intent of this award is to recognize people early on in their career who have already made a notable contribution and are likely to make more.


2023 Simone Melzi, Ana Serrano
2022 Angela Dai, Jürgen Bernard
2021 Adrián Jarabo, Tobias Günther
2020 Marcel Campen, Duygu Ceylan
2019 Benjamin Bach, Matthias Niessner
2018 Thabo Beeler, Sofien Bouaziz
2017 Alec Jacobson, Belen Masia
2016 David Bommes, Wenzel Jakob
2015 Daniele Panozzo, Chris Wojtan
2014 Maks Ovsjanikov, Tobias Ritschel
2013 Wojciech Jarosz, Johannes Kopf
2012 Alexander Hornung, Andrei Sharf
2011 Stefan Bruckner, Elmar Eisemann
2010 Anat Levin, Sylvain Lefebvre
2009 Yaron Lipman, Christian Theobalt
2008 Michael Goesele, Olga Sorkine
2007 Mario Botsch, Jan Kautz
2006 Mark Pauly, Marco Tarini
2005 Pierre Alliez, Hendrik Lensch
2004 Paolo Cignoni, Frédo Durand


To be eligible the candidate should have 2-7 years of experience since completion of PhD. Extensions are possible under certain documented circumstances:

– Maternity: 18 months extension for each child born before or after the PhD. If the applicant can document a longer maternity leave, the eligibility period will be extended by the documented amount of actual leave taken until the call deadline.

– Paternity: extension by the documented time of paternity leave taken until the call deadline for each child born before or after the PhD award.

– Long-term illness or national service: extension by the documented amount of leave taken by the researcher, until the call deadline, for each incident which occurred after the PhD award date.

The call deadline is conventionally set at Dec. 31st of the year before the current award edition.

The occurrence of any of these conditions should be highlighted in the candidate’s nomination.

Nominations: EG Members and any member of the graphics research community may nominate individuals for the award by using the following online form
Candidates for the Young Researcher Award in year N must have finished their PhD in the year N–6 or later. 
For questions regarding the awards program, please contact the Awards Chair Christian Theobalt using the following Email address:
Nominations for the 2024 technical awards shall be sent in by October 20th 2023.